Search
Browse Categories
Mailing Lists

R3 Skates

Product Reviews

(15 Ratings, 13 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
My Feet <3 <3 N3 R3's!
Scissor (Bay Point, CA) 4/13/2011 10:30 AM
I've been skating on the R3's for over a year now... I love them! They are suuuuuper dooooper comfy! I've never had blister issues, which rules, cause I hear skating w/blisters sux. These are also a bit wider, which is swell, cause I have giant feets. :D great starter skates, and must be decent for bad asses too, cause a couple girls on our A-team still use their R3's! I have noticed the boot is starting to separate from the bottom where the plate is attatched.. but well.. normal wear and tear for bad assery in training can be expected.. these puppies are holding up great!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Quality Beginner Boot
Amy Leary - Thugz & Kissez (Springfield, MO) 4/12/2011 5:47 AM
I've had my R3's for about 8 months and they've held up wonderfully. They were right in my price range, while providing just what the beginning derby girl needs. Mine came with Pink Demon wheels rather than Caymans, but a close exchange. The boot fits my wider feet without pinching, but those with arch troubles may need an insert for these. I hated the toe-stops because of their odd shape (I prefer Gumballs now). Overall, I'd recommend this to any derby girl just starting out.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great beginner skates
Bella Trixx (Santa Cruz, CA) 4/8/2011 3:39 PM
These are amazing for someone who does not want to spend a ton of money on skates because they dunno if roller derby is for them yet. I loved these so much that in my first two years i went through two pairs... If you continue skating after one season, you should upgrade even though it is expensive.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Gear Review - Reno Roller Girls Jamie Hoffa
Stacey Neve (Reno, NV) 4/8/2011 1:27 PM
I bought these just over a year ago when I started as freshmeat. I actually really love these. I did upgrade the wheels & bearings tho. I had foot cramps the first month before they were broken in well. The grooves on the standard cayman wheels wore off pretty fast due to the extreme pressure and stress derby life puts on them. However, I had a gal within our league regroove them a little deeper and they work just as great as my other wheels. I highly recommend them for the price. 'Cause we all know how broke derby girls are! Hoffa Sponsorship Reno Roller Girls renorollergirls.com staceyneve@sbcglobal.net
ratingratingratingratingrating
Roller Derby Girl
Jessica Fehsal (Cheyenne, WY) 4/8/2011 11:41 AM
I purchased this skate back in September 2010 as a starter skate. The boots are comfortable and the skate is not bad, however, you do get what you pay for. Since then I have replaced both the wheels and bearings for a much smoother, faster, and controlled ride. The wheels are slick so if you can master those, anything you put on afterward will be a much better improvement. Overall, they have held up well and have accomplished the job I purchased them for...a great starter skate!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good starter skate
Haley Brock (Huntington, WV) 4/8/2011 7:14 AM
I'm derby freshmeat and these are a good starting point if you're a poor derby girl like me. I replaced the wheels with Radar Flatouts and they are working great as my starter skates.
ratingratingratingratingrating
in a perfect world nah, in the UK yeah go on.
Cerebrawl Vortex (Milton Keynes Roller Derby) 4/7/2011 10:19 AM
Let me preface this by saying in the UK, choice is limited, prices are high, EVERYONE ONES R3's. These skates are fine for what they are... they got me up and rolling and I was blissfully unaware that they were a) too big, b) wheels were shit, c) bearings were shit and d) plates/tucks were shit. I never had any trouble with mine other than slippage inside the boot due to sizing issues, the floor we originally skated on was a good match with the Cayman wheels. I will say that one of my league mates had a truck break on her during practice and when inspected the metal was full of air bubbles. Would I buy them again knowing what I know now... probably not as after I've replaced wheels and bearings plus add in the UK retail cost I should of just bout the SheDevils I did a few weeks ago.
ratingratingratingratingrating
desperation
Shana Valenzuela (Honolulu, HI) 4/7/2011 1:14 AM
so when i first heard there was a roller derby league in Orange County AND that it was just a few blocks from my house, I had to check them out. So in November I went to a freshmeat orientation and was hooked...but who the hell knew derby was so effin expensive??!!! newly single with a teenager at home i was desperate to get my skate on, but counldn't afford the gear at the time. about 4 months later, i was plunging into the depths of insanity so i ordered the R3's. i have what we call at home luau feet...my bff calls them flintstone feet...wide and square. since the boots are not leather, they do not give, but didn't pinch my flintstone feet too terribly. i skated on the wheels that came with my skates, sliding around on the sport court until 2 days before my first bout, when i thought to ask someone why, when i had good speed was i sliding around...doh! i am a toe stop addict and did change them, but worked with the ones i had until a couple of months ago. the skates are heavy...i have tried on a few pairs recently (i really want to upgrade) and they are soooo much lighter! but, once i upgrade will still skate in the R3's outdoors.
ratingratingratingratingrating
You get what you pay for
Baby Face Kill-her (Spokane, WA) 4/6/2011 10:34 PM
If these were a buy and go skate for a hundred dollars, I would rate them higher. However, after skating on them for about two weeks as fresh meat, I ended up buying different wheels and bearings, because the stock ones that come with this skate are just crappy. That being said, the boot was just fine for being a freshie, I did wear them for a year before upgrading to reidell wickeds, and they were comfortable and broke in easily. Another downside, if you happen to sweat while skating(I'm sure none of you do!) the fake leather can get rather stanky, as it doesn't breathe like real leather, so beware! all in all, if you can throw down another 75 dollars or so for a decent wheel, these are still a more afordable option than buying $300+ skates to begin with.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great Starter
Sam (DE) 4/6/2011 10:25 PM
I found these were great for starting out, but as my skating got more intense (better), I had to up to leather skates because these don't form to feet and were creating evil pressure points. Make sure you get wheel specific for your floor, too, these ones that come with these skates are poo. I kept my R3's to use as my outdoor skates, though.
ratingratingratingratingrating
The little skate that could.
Talya "Black Gold" Scott (Okinawa, Japan) 4/6/2011 2:56 PM
I personally still use R3s. If you are looking for a cheap starter pair of derby skates, these could be the skates for you. I passed my MST in these skates. I did change out my original wheels and bearing, though. They don't wear in as fast as leather would but I have been wearing my R3s since Jan. and they have been working just fine for me. I have yet to bout in them (will this weekend 4-9-11) but I am sure they will hold up for me. I have heard that the R3s can get you through a season. So if you think other skates are too expensive, check out the R3s. I love mine!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fresh gear for Fresh Meat
Desiree White (Perrysburg, OH) 4/6/2011 2:45 PM
As fresh meat I started boot camp like everyone else - clueless. Roller skates? They have four wheels right? Thank gravy I had the privilege of actually knowing a couple of Glass City Roller biddies before I started shopping for gear. The R3's are the perfect fresh meat skate - they come with what you NEED to get started in derby - without all the bells and whistles that you may (or may not) end up needing. First thing I did with my R3's is JETTISON the wheels they come with. Check the floors you will be skating on and order additional wheels accordingly (I have some bad as hell sugars - so's that I don't schmear my ass on the terrazzo), schmooze some girls on the team and see if you can try on their skates. They are sized in mens sizes - (I wear a fatty nine in ladies but my skates are size 7's), and last but not least score yourself some toe guards. Nothing like spending 100+ bones on fancy footwear only to shred the toe during drills. Point in fact - these are starter skates. If you are new to derby - start HERE. Upgrade accordingly. My R3's are getting me through fresh meat and beyond. *warning* - skill not included - you have to work for that...
ratingratingratingratingrating
Fresh gear for Fresh Meat
Desiree White (Perrysburg, OH) 4/6/2011 2:41 PM
As fresh meat I started boot camp like everyone else - clueless. Roller skates? They have four wheels right? Thank gravy I had the privilege of actually knowing a couple of Glass City Roller biddies before I started shopping for gear. The R3's are the perfect fresh meat skate - they come with what you NEED to get started in derby - without all the bells and whistles that you may (or may not) end up needing. First thing I did with my R3's is JETTISON the wheels they come with. Check the floors you will be skating on and order additional wheels accordingly (I have some bad as hell sugars - so's that I don't schmear my ass on the terrazzo), schmooze some girls on the team and see if you can try on their skates. They are sized in mens sizes - (I wear a fatty nine in ladies but my skates are size 7's), and last but not least score yourself some toe guards. Nothing like spending 100+ bones on fancy footwear only to shred the toe during drills. Point in fact - these are starter skates. If you are new to derby - start HERE. Upgrade accordingly. My R3's are getting me through fresh meat and beyond. *warning* - skill not included - you have to work for that...
page1