Search
Browse Categories
Mailing Lists

Triple 8 Knee Pads

Product Reviews

(15 Ratings, 15 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Decent but low end
Don Juan Demented (Lindenhurst, IL) 12/19/2013 7:19 AM
Triple 8 pads are comfortable but not high quality build. They tend to fall apart fairly quickly. If you're looking for something inexpensive they're a great buy for that.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Ok for short term
Pushy Willow (Queens, NY) 4/8/2011 7:40 AM
I don't think that these knee pads offer the best protection. They slide when you fall and don't offer enough paddding for the knees.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great pads!
Haley Brock (Huntington, WV) 4/8/2011 7:16 AM
I love these pads. They're comfy and I don't feel a thing when I fall on them during practices. My only wish is that they would have the whole leg piece to slide on instead of just the straps.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Some of the best skate these
Crooksie (Olympia, WA OLY ROLLERS) 4/7/2011 10:43 AM
I took a suggestion from a team mate and derby hero to buy these and have been wearing them for about a month and I think the are fan-freakin-tastic minus one thing, the inside seam cuts into my skin on the top part of the pad, and it F-ing hurts. I can push it around in there and forget about it but that is a huge design flaw. Though what can I say, I Love the low profile of these pads and the protection I get when I do fall is pretty darn good! I would recommend them to a friend!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Back Blocker
Raven Rage (North Plainfield, NJ) 4/7/2011 9:20 AM
I've been using these knee pads for about 4 years now and have gone through two pairs of them. I've only had the most recent pair for a couple of months now and they're already starting to fall apart. PROs - inexpensive - provides ok protection if you don't fall alot - low profile (doesn't stick out like the 187s) CONs - not very durable...the spandex material shreds away from the knee pad. I've had to nurse them along with duct tape until I could save up money to buy new knee guards - spandex stretches out too quickly and the knee pads start falling down your leg. - high stink factor these knee pads don't release the derby smell no matter what you spray into them or wash them with Suggestion: - order a size up if you're going to wear a knee gasket underneath them Overall Opinion: Not extremely happy with these knee pads they provide moderate/low protection, not very durable, they fall down your knee and they hold in the derby stinks.
ratingratingratingratingrating
My first pads
Z (Phoenix, AZ) 4/7/2011 8:46 AM
These were my first derby knee pads and they didn't stick with me very long due to the length being too long for my legs. My measurements are in between sizes so I never felt that they were a good fit anywhere. If you are a taller person and these don't slide down on you, you'll probably be happy with them. The flat caps are great for sliding on the floor without injuring your knees.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Ms.
Buffie Vaught (West Lafayette, IN) 4/7/2011 6:20 AM
Great for beginners but after 8 mos the padding was completely gone and i couldn't keep them up.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Delightful
Kristy Keenan (Gladstone, Queensland) 4/7/2011 3:18 AM
These are like magic on my knees. I got them when i was injured so I broke them in by running on the treadmill in them and doing knee slides across the lounge room floor, it was effective as anything. They do tend to slip down after a few slides.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for beginners!
D (apo, AP) 4/6/2011 11:23 PM
I began my derby life in these pads. They have held up nicely with the amount of times that I have washed them and the amount of skating that I have done in them. They are great pads for beginners but after a while you will probably want to invest in some that stand up to a little more abuse. The cushion in my dominant knee has worn down and I find myself constantly switching them around to try to find some relief.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good but not Great
Sam (DE) 4/6/2011 10:41 PM
Protection wise- these do well for me. I never had pain when I was learning to fall. The only down side is they stretch out fast so I'm constantly pulling them up after a fall.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Comfortable fit and easy to use.
Craigsfist (Ventura, CA) 4/6/2011 8:00 PM
I am not a huge fan of knee pads you have to slip your feet into. These kneed-pads a tight fit and sturdy Velcro. I like them so much I got two pair so I can switch them out when one pair is be washed. I recommend.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Good pads, but you need gaskets to keep them in place
Kat Von D'stroya (Ohio Valley Roller Girls) 4/6/2011 7:31 PM
I've had these pad since my 2nd year as a derby girl. I like them because they aren't big and bulky - but these sucker slide down ALL THE TIME! I can't tell you how many times I've hit my bare knee on the floor! I would recommend going a size smaller than normal or investing in gaskets with these knee pads.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A little disappointed
Crashalicious (APO, AP) 4/6/2011 4:49 PM
When I first got these I loved them. Super soft, great sliding, and great protection. Then about 3 months into using them (about 3 times a week indoors) they stopped sliding (right in the middle of MST) Tried to sand them down but no luck. Also on my dominate knee the bottom strap is tearing.
ratingratingratingratingrating
slippy slide
Sonny Black (national city, CA) 4/6/2011 2:27 PM
These pads were good for the first month of practice. But after many different socks and tights and leggings, these knee pads began to slip down my knees. I've washed them before and they seem to get tighter, THEY TRICKED ME! I have fallen a few times and had these suckers only protect my ankles! My bruised knees will be sure to get a different brand next time!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Illinois Valley Vixens Roller Derby League
Justine Swett (Ottawa, IL) 4/6/2011 2:09 PM
I have played derby for 5 months now and my pads are awesome! They have held together so well. The only downer is that they stink! I tried a camu camu scentsy pack in my bag with them and now they smell like sweaty Hawaiin fruit. Unfortunately my washer doesn't have a delicate cycle but I have heard that hand washing or washing them on the gentle cycle works, I am just nervous that they will fall apart.
page1