Search
Browse Categories
Mailing Lists

Gumball Toe Stops - Short Stem

Product Reviews

(28 Ratings, 22 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
<3
Jewelz BASHer, Rockn Rolla/Central California Area Derby (Clovis, CA) 4/13/2011 11:20 AM
Love my gumballs! I've used them on concrete, polished concrete, and super slick concrete and they are great! I love that the diameter of the gumballs are larger for greater stability and support for running on them and especially mohawk stops. I have the short stem stops and have just enough threading to keep them at the length that I prefer. Many girls in our league have switched to Gumballs and they love them too!
ratingratingratingratingrating
winning
Tilda Whirl (Los Angeles, CA) 4/13/2011 10:06 AM
They're a little slippery at first but once you get them worn in, they're pretty great.
ratingratingratingratingrating
No Question About It...
Jedi Nightmare (Roller Derby Anonymous (Salem, OR)) 4/11/2011 6:12 PM
These are the best toe stops on the market right now. I agree with all of the reviews on here so far. They are all on the mark. One added thing to think about...because of the material and color, these won't leave marks on your skating surface like other toe stops. This can be very important if you are using another organization's facility and want to help preserve the floor.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Big and Beautiful
Mandy Maggots (Broadview Hts., OH) 4/9/2011 7:58 AM
Not only do gumballs have amazing grip, they make my skates look even more hardcore.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Dr. Awesome
Viva Violence (Mission City Brawlin Betties) 4/8/2011 8:45 AM
I love my gumballs! Super bouncy & responsive without being sticky. I skate on gritty painted concrete that eats them up kinda quick though :( But for only $20 its not too bad to replace!
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE
Slick Tracy (New Hampshire Roller Derby) 4/8/2011 7:12 AM
I have skated on 3 different kinds of stops before finally finding the right toe stop for me! I used the round carrera stops, round power dyne stops, and the sure grip medium grippers, and I disliked all of them. They either wore down too fast, didn't grip hard enough, left stupid marks all over the floor, or were just plain awkward to stop on. I heard about the gumballs and immediately went out and bought a set. WOW. Our home bouting venue is SUPER slippery, and I have yet to have the same gripping issues that I have had with other toe stops. I've got gumballs on both of my pairs of skates, and with heavy usage (I jam a lot, to 180s are a must when knocked out of play) and they are holding up beautifully! I will definitely be sticking with these!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Hippity Hoppity
Staci Veitch (Centennial, CO) 4/7/2011 7:32 PM
I felt like the Easter Bunny hopping around the track in these. I went from average agility to Tomahawk Terror overnight. Juking-no problem! Hopping on one foot-easy. These toe stops make what look hard to do on the track, accessible.
ratingratingratingratingrating
bang for your buck like whoa
Shayna Kalish (Lincoln, NE) 4/7/2011 9:53 AM
I love my gumballs. I had been skating on the crappy toe stops that came with my Vixens and wore them down using my toe to stop (don't hate, it was before there was any stopping involved with my t-stops!). This made turn stops really crazy. The gumballs are a huge improvement. Lots of surface area make it a lot easier to run and stop on them. They're so bouncy sometimes I jump on them for fun. The one downside is they are a little large so sometimes when I'm skating they bounce off the floor. It's not a very big deal though, I'm not the best skater and it hasn't downed me yet (though it inevitably will now since I've tempted the fates). And, as an added bonus, you can dye them if you want a fancy color.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Get the short length!!!!!
Quickshot Kitty (Charm City Roller Girls) 4/7/2011 7:12 AM
After reading the other reviews I thought these would either be amazingly different than the standard toe-stops or not really different. They're the latter. I don't really notice a difference with my stopping power. I am though noticing that they're holding up a lot better than regular toe-stops. A couple tips: * Order the shorter length even if you like your toe-stops long. I love mine longer but the standard length is too long. I'm having them cut down a bit. * Make sure you rough them up on concrete before you skate in them (as one review I read told me to). It really helps.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best toe stops ever!
Leigh LaBrake (Valley Cottage, NY) 4/7/2011 4:51 AM
Best toe stops I've ever used. Has plenty of surface area to to run on and is super grippy for quick stops. Love them!!! -DeadLeigh Force, Jerzey Derby Brigade
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE!
Sam (DE) 4/6/2011 10:49 PM
These are GREAT! They don't spin lose, and have plenty of surface area for starts. They're available in long stem, too, but I prefer the short.
ratingratingratingratingrating
<3
Sarah Lang (San Diego, CA) 4/6/2011 9:20 PM
Love
ratingratingratingratingrating
Gummy Gummy GUMBALLS!
Hell Gordo (Vancouver, BC) 4/6/2011 9:10 PM
I got some of these after hearing that they were all the rage so I figured okay. I'll ante up for some. Man, am I glad I spent the money. They stick, they bounce and they don't wear much when skating outside either. I dragged one toe stop down a two block hill in a parade and they hardly wore at all (in the rain, even!) Best toe stop EVER. If a toe stop can stop you in the pouring rain, that's a gosh darned good toe stop! YAY Gumballs!
ratingratingratingratingrating
These are AMAZING
Crashalicious (APO, AP) 4/6/2011 4:53 PM
These stops hold up super well. I have had them about 4 months and use them, they are still about as good as new. Hardly notice any wear down.
ratingratingratingratingrating
These are the Berries!
Desiree White (Perrysburg, OH) 4/6/2011 4:04 PM
I could run all daggone day on these things (don't tell my coach or she will make me). The large surface area and grippiness makes them a must have for turn around toe stops. Might want to rough 'em up a little bit prior to getting good use out of them (think new pencil eraser)and some have mentioned getting nicks in them from "wheel bites". This has not happened to me yet and I have been wearing them two to three times a week for over a month now. Five stars - they rock my socks that much.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best Toe Stops Ever!!!
Cherokee ChokeHer (Emerald City Roller Girls, Eugene, OR) (Eugene, OR) 4/6/2011 3:34 PM
Before I bought my GumBall Toe Stops I was sliding every time I transitioned. My teammate told me to try these out, so I did. By far the best pair of toe stops I've ever bought. I never slide anymore and it has increased my stop and go time by a huge margin! I love these toe stops!!! Highly recommend them!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Wonderful
M Nuclear Winter (Santa Maria, CA) 4/6/2011 3:25 PM
This is by far the best set of toestops I've tried. I thought the size would bother me, but they haven't had any effect, except that I stop more quickly. For skaters like me who enjoy their stops high off the ground, the ability to order these with the shorter stems is a really nice option.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Big and Beautiful
Margaret Bleed (Carbondale, IL) 4/6/2011 3:17 PM
I just got a pair of these last week. I'm a heavy toe-stop user, so I wanted something a little more substantial than the stock stops that came with my skates (which wore down pretty quickly). Pros: I was able to break them in during a single practice on our slick-as-snotcrete floor. I am in love with how comfortable it is to run on them. I felt like they were nice and solid giving me the support I needed to pick up that extra speed right off the line. I was also expecting a faceplant the first time I did a tomahawk stop, but I stopped on a dime. It was lovely. Cons: The short stem just barely made it through my nut and snouts before I could get it in the hole (*THAT'S WHAT SHE SAID*). I think the short stem could be just a smidgen longer. I don't think getting the regular length stem would solve the problem since the actual stops are so large. They sit exactly where I want them to, but it was a pain to get them there. Another issue was that I managed to get my right toe-stop caught on another skater's wheel twice during one practice and again at practice 2 days later. It was the same skater all 3 times, so I'm not sure if I can blame the toe-stops or her new wheels (she went from narrow to wide). I also need to practice my recoveries with them on. It's just a little awkward with how close they are to the floor when I'm trying to stand up. It seems like I can work around most of the cons. I'll just tweak my pack skating and recoveries for a few more weeks until I don't even notice a problem. Then I'll probably give them that coveted 5th star.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Must have
christina (mountain view, CA) 4/6/2011 3:02 PM
This is a must have for every derby skater. It takes a little while getting used to because of the size but great after one practice. If I could I would give these as birthday gifts to all my team mates
ratingratingratingratingrating
Best toe stops hands down!
Kat Von D'stroya (Ohio Valley Roller Girls) 4/6/2011 2:59 PM
Do you slip on concrete with your current toe stops? Do you get beat off the line often? Buy these bad boys and have all of your problems solved! No joke! No hype! These are incredible and will make a world of difference. If you wear bonts, I recommend the short stems.
ratingratingratingratingrating
A-Mazing
Megatron (Seattle, WA) 4/6/2011 2:28 PM
I'm not going to try to be cheeky or funny. I'm just going to say that these are amazing toe stops & I'm really glad that Green Monster made them. I don't skate very often, but I'm glad I handed over the $20 to upgrade.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Perfect derby stops!
Oliver Ghalebi (Huntington Beach, CA) 1/7/2011 9:16 AM
I tried the Gumball (Short Shank) on my reactor plate to replace my quickly worn out Snyder Dance stops. First up, the Snyders are great toe stops, they just wear out way to quickly, especially if you are a heavy toe stop user. Second of all the Snyders only come in long stem version, which is far too long if you are trying to install them on a reactor, you will push the stem into your boot and do damage to either the boot or plate, cutting these down works wonders but not everyone has access to the tools required. So on to the fit of the Gumballs. The short shank version fit nicely in the reactor plate, though when they start to wear there might not be enough thread to push them out to exactly where I want them. I was advised that the gumballs need some serious break in before they grip, this I found out the hard way trying to toe stop run on new Gumballs on sport court... splat. Immediately I went outside and roughed them up, both sides, on the asphalt, I made sure I got the edges too as those were equally slippy if you tend to roll your foot when running or stopping on them. After my initial panic it turns out the break in period isn't as long as I thought it might be, and after two 3 hour practice sessions they were gripping as good, if not better than the Snyders with very little noticeable wear. The Good: Low Wear, Grippy once broken in, More progressive than other stops (The harder you push the more they grip), Short shank available. Needs Improvement: The short shank is too short, by about two or three threads. I cut my Snyders about 3 - 4mm longer, When they wore down I could push them out further with plenty of thread left inside the plate, but when I set them initially they were also not touching the sole of the boot. Bottom Line: Best stops for derby, Period. (As long as you are not B-Train).
page1