Search
Browse Categories
Mailing Lists

Atom Poison Wheels

Sold in 4-packs.

Product Reviews

(17 Ratings, 14 Reviews) Average Rating:
ratingratingratingratingrating
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great for dirty floors/ watch out for sticky ones
Freewheel (Troy, NY) 7/28/2011 8:33 AM
One of the teams I ref for, the entire team just about uses these wheels. Our venue has the worst wood floor I've ever skated on. (Plywood stapled down in places, zippers from water damage, etc) Poisons work great. I did mess up my leg a little bit the other night when I was at the rink and I think the wheel had something to do with it. On the dirty wood floor I usually have a pusher setup with my flat-outs and my poisons. I love it. The other night, I forgot to switch to my flat-outs complete set for skating at the rink. Beautiful wood floor that is pretty sticky now that it is refinished and it was super humid that night. I was shadowing the other jam ref on the inside track and my wheel stuck to the floor mid turn. I ended up slightly twisting my knee and ankle on the same leg in-between turns one and two. I wouldn't use these wheels on every surface, but dirty wood floors and slick stuff I love them. Just be careful of good floors and humidity. Then, these wheels are to sticky.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Your gift, your curse
Amy Leary - Thugz & Kissez (Springfield, MO) 4/12/2011 5:38 AM
I purchased these bad boys when our polished wooden floor was near freezing and I was sliding at higher speeds. They were proper grip for that situation and my body type (bodacious booty blocker). However, the advertisement for ALL floors may be a bit misleading. With the season change and the floor significantly warmer, I could not perform the WFTDA 25 in 5 because I was too sluggish. Perhaps my weight in conjunction with the warm wood, but switching to a harder wheel while using the Poisons as pushers was much better after the weather change.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Sure Investment
Jedi Nightmare (Roller Derby Anonymous) 4/11/2011 6:00 PM
These are by far the BEST wheels I have ever skated on. I have used them on slick concrete, a gym floor with slick spots, some funky cork board/concrete surface and outside in variable terrains. I've never had a problem with them, and feel comfortable on any surface I skate with them on. They are the perfect combination for grip and speed. The best thing about them is the cost (very reasonable) and the quality. I've had them since September 2010, and they still work perfectly. I recommend them to anyone who asks. Buying this wheel is a sure investment. I currently skate on the wides, and can't wait till they wear out so I can get a pair of the narrows! However, judging on how long they've lasted so far, it will probably be a while. I just might have to spring for the narrows anyway. :o)
ratingratingratingratingrating
they better work..
Mandy Maggots (Broadview Hts., OH) 4/9/2011 8:25 AM
It might just be my skating style but, I had a practice the other day and we have worn slick wood floor thinking this would be a great time to break them in before our bout, they just stuck like glue to the track keeping me from maneuvering fast enough. forget about skating timed laps with these wheels on that wood surface,maybe if I was 70 lbs It would have worked out for me. all I really know at this point is that they better grip sweeter on slick concrete with large cracks everywhere.
ratingratingratingratingrating
I love atom wheels!
Bran Bam 88 From Hidden City Derby Girls (oceanside, CA) 4/8/2011 11:58 PM
At first I was afraid to buy them cause I'm a heavy skater,mostly my wheels are 92 or 93 so i can get some speed and a lil grip.I was told they are 2x times better than SG sugars.My team mate talked me into buying wheels and I did.I love them I go street skating and i skate outdoors on concrete,I haven't tryed them on wooden floors yet.
ratingratingratingratingrating
If you don't have a pair, your friend does.
Mad Dogg May, Tahoe Derby Dames (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) 4/7/2011 12:33 PM
Really like these wheels. I have the wides. The wheels work well on concrete, sport court, gym floors. Check them out if you haven't already. I think I am going to get another pair with the aluminum hub.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Two Thumbs Up
Sam (DE) 4/6/2011 11:03 PM
Many girls on my team have these wheels, and no matter where we bout, never have to change them. ...Just don't use them outdoors!
ratingratingratingratingrating
LOVE these wheels!
Hell Gordo (Vancouver BC) 4/6/2011 9:01 PM
My only regret is I didn't get the Slims because they're too wide. Other than that, these wheels are amazeballs. I've used them on slick concrete, outdoors.... they're a hybrid in every sense of the word. Wouldn't hesitate to buy the slims!
ratingratingratingratingrating
Love these wheels!
Rowan Cota (Show Pwny) (Bellefonte, PA) 4/6/2011 3:33 PM
Seriously, for slick surfaces these wheels are like wearing sneakers on the rink instead of wheels! (That's a good thing though.) I wear a full set of 8 for a slick concrete floor that's pretty dusty in the winter, but suspect I'll be mixing it up with some harder wheels to use a set of these as pushers when it gets warmer (and stickier) here in the summer.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Everyone Needs a set
Kat Von D'stroya (Ohio Valley Roller Girls) 4/6/2011 3:04 PM
This is by far the best all around wheel for every floor. I love them in slims and for plenty of grip on concrete. Every skater should have a set.
ratingratingratingratingrating
i finally found the perfect wheel
batsy thunderbolt (ann arbor mi) 4/6/2011 2:30 PM
I have gone through five different kinds of wheels in the past year, including Sugars....and this is my dream wheel. Its grippy enough for those crazy turns but doesn't slow you down. I love love love them.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Great multi-purpose wheel
M Nuclear Winter (Santa Maria, CA) 4/6/2011 2:25 PM
These are perfect for exactly what they were designed for - all different surfaces. Whether you are just lazy about changing wheels like I am, or you want a go-to back-up wheel for your skate bag, you can't go wrong with these.
ratingratingratingratingrating
Skater Extraordinaire
BeatHer Bailey (Pacific Roller Derby) 4/6/2011 1:43 PM
I've tried several hybrid wheels, sugars, shadows, ghosts....i LOVE my narrow poison wheels. I've skated on sport court, polished concrete, outdoor hockey rinks, street skated and took classes in a very rocky terrain in a parking lot, my poisons never failed me. I, however, have NOT used them at my local skating rink as, unfortunately, those things do not exist in Hawaii, they're just magical and legendary as the Menehune.
ratingratingratingratingrating
I'll skate that.
ThrashQuatch (Hagerstown, MD) 4/6/2011 1:42 PM
If you are looking for a wheel good on all surfaces, you have found the mother of them all. On our home turf, we skate on a beautiful coated wood floor and while they are grippy, there is still plenty of function. However, put them on a slippery concrete floor and it will make a huge difference, there wasn't much crazy slide-out and loss of control. They gripped that floor like nobody's business. I was skeptical about how they would do on a slippery floor until I skated them on it, and I was very impressed. I would recommend these wheels to anyone. Even your mom. ThrashQuatch - Mason-Dixon Roller Vixens
page1